Berlevåg Harbour Museum is a charming institution officially opened in June 1988. It is located on the area earlier possessed by what today are named "The Norwegian Coastal Administration".
In summer from 15th of june - 15th of august
Mon-fri: 10am-6pm. Sat - sun: 11am-4pm
In the winter season:
Mon-fri: 10am-3pm. Sat-sun: closed
The building of the breakwaters has been an extensive project in the history of Berlevåg, starting in 1913. A railway was constructed to transport stone from the quarry. Around 1960 the tetrapods were adopted providing strong breakwaters for protection of the harbour in Berlevåg. A tetrapod is a four-legged concrete structure used as armour unit on breakwaters. The tetrapod's shape is designed to dissipate the force of incoming waves.